Parliament of Malaysia represents the democratic structure of the government and reflects the people's aspiration through the elected representatives. It is the highest legislative body of the country that consists of three main components:
1. His Majesty The King
2. Senate
3. House of Representatives

Following the first general election after Independence, the First Meeting of the First Parliament of Malay Federation was held on 11 September 1959 at Tunku Abdul Rahman Hall, Kuala Lumpur. On that day, the Senate and House of Representatives met concurrently for the first time. The first Order of the day was the appointment of the President and Speaker of both Houses, followed by oath-taking ceremony by 38 Senators and 104 elected representatives.


First Parliament of Federation of Malaya located at Tunku Abdul Rahman Hall, Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur.

On 16 September 1963, Malaysia was formed when Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore agreed to be part of Malaysia. Since then, the Parliament of the Federation of Malaya is known as Parliament of Malaysia. The date also marked another historical event when the Parliament session was held in its own new building on the 16.2 hectares land near to Lake Perdana.
Parliament Complex completed in 1963.
Today, the Members of 12th Parliament has increased to 70 Senators and 222 Members for House of Representatives. Parliament of Malaysia will continue to be the institution upheld by the people and the symbol of constitutional democracy.

Last updated: 10 December 2019 | Hits: 61115

SPR Malaysia
myGov Mobile
Suruhanjaya Pencegahan Rasuah Malaysia
Government Procurement Information System
Bahagian Istiadat dan Urusetia Persidangan Antarabangsa
Last Updated: 18/06/2024.
Best viewed 1024 x 768 with Mozilla Firefox 3+, Google Chrome 5+ and Internet Explorer 8+.
2024 © Copyright Reserved Parliament of Malaysia
Page generated in 0.028 seconds v5